News expected soon…

We’ve had a number of enquiries about the possibility of future excavation works at Boltby Scar from our fabulous volunteers and other interested parties. At the moment we are in discussion with Dominic Powlesland, Landscape Research Centre about what our options are.

I think our current feeling is that it would be fantastic to do more excavation work. There’s so much more to find out about Boltby but also there seems to be a real keeness from people who were involved last year and new people who have already inquired about being involved in any future exploration works.

There’s a lot for us to think about and consider but we hope to have some news in the next few weeks and we’ll be updating our core volunteers as well as posting here on the blog. So, for now, watch this space!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to News expected soon…

  1. protogere says:

    I’m very much interested in knowing the accessibility of visiting and looking at this site. My family and I will be touring parts of the UK next April (2011) and my daughter is looking to study archaeology and I am terribly interested in Boltby Scar for its purported significance to Cartimandua and the Bretagne ‘tribe’.
    I have a permanent injury which leaves me unable to climb or hike through any rough terrain, as I now walk with a cane. Thus, I write you to ask if traversing this area is even an option and if so, approximately how great of a walk is it? Please advise.

  2. boltbyscar says:

    Hi

    If you would like to contact me to discuss Boltby and the site’s accessibility then please do so by calling the North York Moors National Park Authority on 01439 770657 or please email me your contact details and I will give you a call – j.smith@northyorkmoors-npa.gov.uk

    With thanks

    Jennifer Smith
    Lime & Ice Project Officer

    North York Moors National Park Authority

Leave a Reply

