Group H – Tuesday 8 May 2012

9th day of Excavation but 8th day of “Digging” [due to weather issues as the end of last week]

Weather – spotty – rather windy, relatively low temperatures [read chilling] and slight rain showers – shower most severe at 9:50-10:00 am

Today I managed to finish working on my Palisade slot and in time to get it photographed too, at first the area inside the slot was pretty muddy from the earlier rainfall and became rather difficult to properly remove without removing the natural ground beneath that we didn’t want to touch; however, after about 3-4 hours of carefully trowelling and shovelling [with either my hands or a hand-trowel] the mud, silt, clay and general gunk from the slot I finally managed to finish….. Hurray! It was fun to do, trying to figure out what was “Natural” and what was “Redeposited Natural” was quite fun, unfortunately after a while my knees were really starting to hurt…. Bah but it was worth it!

After our final tea break at 2:30 I was asked to attempt to draw a sectional drawing of my slot, after finding the necessary equipment and putting everything together [it was about 3 or 3:30?] I began my first true attempt in almost five years to create a Technical Drawing, in this case the Section of my Palisade Slot – unfortunately I didn’t have time to fully draw the section but will continue on Wednesday and hopefully finish by Thursday at the latest – unfortunately due to sheer rustiness [its been 5 years after all] I’m not very good at Technical Drawings but I know I’m going to TRY.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Group H – Tuesday 8 May 2012

  1. Seymour says:

    Hi! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate!

    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this post to him.

    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

